Election Fever Breaks

Gilmore wins mayor's race: Bonta, Johnson and Tam take council seats


Eric J. Kos

A pair of Alameda voters prepare to leave their polling place at Alameda Christian Reformed Church after performing their civic duty Tuesday.

In Tuesday's election councilwoman Marie Gilmore handsomely won the contest for mayor. With all 48 of the Island City's precincts reporting, results show that Gilmore collected 6,713 votes cast for mayor. Her closest opponent in the race, Councilman Frank Matarrese, managed 4,419 votes. Vice-mayor Doug deHaan was fewer than 100 votes behind Matarrese with 4,334 votes. Former Councilman Tony Daysog was a distant fourth with 2,216 votes. Kenneth Kahn had 668 votes.

Rob Bonta, Beverly Johnson and Lena Tam will join deHaan on the city council in January.

Voters were asked to choose two candidates in the election to fill seats now held by Matarrese and Tam. Matarrese's loss in the mayoral election means he will be stepping down in January; Tam's term as councilwoman also expires in January.

Voters chose Johnson and Bonta to fill Tam and Mataresse's seats. However, the election of Gilmore as mayor opens a third seat on the council, which Tam — who placed third in the race — will fill. DeHaan still has two years left in his council term.

Other candidates in the council race included Jean Sweeney, whose diligence put the Alameda Belt Line property in the city's list of real estate properties; Planning Board president Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft; Board of Education trustee Tracy Jensen; former Alameda Journal editor Jeff Mitchell; and businessman Adam Gillitt.

While the new mayor and the newly constituted city council are tackling issues like developing Alameda Point and the future of the Alameda Fire Department, the Alameda Unified School District's Board of Trustees will take on the task of funding the schools. Voters elected Margie Sheratt and re-elected Mike McMahon to help face down the future of Alameda's schools.

Sherratt handily won a seat on the AUSD board with 10,295 votes. McMahon collected 6,566 votes to keep his seat for a third term. Candidate James Pruitt had 3,630 votes; Clay Pollard, 3,251; Sheri Palmer, 2,437 8.67; and Rand Wrobel 1,827 votes. Alamedans cast 95 write-in votes for school board seats.

Robert Deutsch, MD, will retain his seat on the Alameda Hospital board of directors. Deutsch received 8,049 votes. Steward Chen will join Deutsch on the board. His 6,199 votes were enough to beat out Elliot Gorelick, who received 6,199 votes, and incumbent Leah William who collected 5,437 votes.


Add comment

Security code