Feature Articles

 

Monday, Nov. 20

  • 7 p.m. Planning Board. Council Chambers, City Hall, 2263 Santa Clara Ave. 

Tuesday, Nov. 21

  • 7 p.m. City Council. Council Chambers, City Hall, 2263 Santa Clara Ave.  

 

Dylan Leung, Taylan Mao and Grace Zang excitedly prepare to perform for the annual Holiday Home Tour, on Saturday, Dec. 9, sponsored by the Alameda Family Services 
League. The event includes a gift boutique at the Alameda Elks Lodge, open to the public from 9:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. 

The young pianists are students from Carolyn Queener and Katy Stephan’s studio, and will carry on a tradition of entertaining shoppers while helping the Alameda 
community. 

Now that’s the holiday spirit!

Fans of Nancy Mongerson and Darleen Sherman — two retired Alameda Unified School District teachers who have collaborated on five children’s books — will have an opportunity to meet the authors, purchase books and have them signed at the Holiday Fest at Temple Israel, Sunday, Nov. 19. 

The authors use their love of children’s literature and knowledge of multilevel curriculum-based instructional lessons from their combined experience of 64 years in the classroom as their inspiration.

Come support local artists and businesses while getting all your holiday shopping done before Thanksgiving!

Holiday Fest 2017, a Holiday shopping expo, has been set for Sunday, Nov. 19, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Admission is free.

A huge variety of handcrafted and specially made items will be on sale in one convenient place: Temple Israel and the Community Center
of Harbor Bay Isle at 3183 and 3195 Mecartney Road in Alameda.

Plenty of free parking is available nearby at Bay Farm's Harbor Bay Landing. Overflow parking is available at CVS and Safeway.
 

 

At the Oct. 17 City Council meeting, Councilmembers approved “Art in City Hall,” which allows professional and emerging Alameda artists and arts organizations to display works on the walls of City Hall. City staff will run the program for one year with the goal of supporting the local arts community, creating a memorable experience for the public and celebrating Alameda’s diverse history and community. Applications are open now for artists to apply to have their work displayed in Alameda’s seat of government. 

Pages