Kids Stuff

The Sun joins the community in congratulating them

Part 2. Due to a misunderstanding, not all the Alameda High School graduates were listed in the Sun’s special edition on June 18. We are very sorry this happened. The missing graduates are listed below.

Leo Adams, Mohammad Elhan Alam, Zachary Albers, Miranda Allen Anderson, Ezzaddin Altareb, Jennifer Alvarez, Joshua Alvarez, Alani Alves, Chloe Amaden, Zachary Aman, Sindhu Ananthavel, Jonathan Andrews, Kyles Arndt, Ashot Avanesyan, Jayda Aviles.

A, B
Isabel Guadalupe Acosta, Miriam Herrera Alcantara, Gilburt Joshua Alcontin, Ahmed Abdulreheem Aljunaidi, Turkey (Adam) Alsharabi, Calvin Levele Armstrong, Justin Matteo Asti, Emerald Renee Banks, Rafael James Phinney Baskette, Kobe Michael Boulware, Lonzo Brandon Brown, Wyatt Michael Byroads. 

Unfortunately the Alameda Sun was not able to obtain a list of the Alameda Community Learning Center’s (ACLC) list of graduates by press time. The Sun is looking forward to publishing the names of the ACLC grads in a future issue. In the meantime, Cooper Boyle (right) represents his fellow graduates. He will be attending the University of California at Santa Cruz. 

Alameda High School’s Creative Writing Circle is putting together a journal to distribute to the general public. The Circle accepting poetry, short stories and art pieces from Alameda High students and alumni. 

The circle will only accept two art pieces to serve as the journal’s front and back covers. The journal has no main theme. Submissions can be on any topic that the authors and artists choose. Poetry pieces may be one to two pages. Writers must limit their short stories to 1,300 words. 

The results of this year’s National Public Radio Student Podcast Challenge were announced on June 3. The Challenge received more than 2,200 podcast entries from students all over the country. From this competitive pool, judges chose two grand prize winners, 25 finalists and awarded 215 honorable mentions. Of 12 podcasts submitted by high schoolers at the Alameda Community Learning Center (ACLC), one was among the nationwide finalists and two more received honorable mentions.